Warehouse Racking Inspections – D&R Racking

Since 1984, D&R Racking has been supplying, installing and inspecting high-quality pallet racking, and we’re proud to have developed a high level of expertise in that time. Now, with our warehouse racking inspections, we apply those decades of understanding to keeping your racking safe and compliant.  

racking inspections

Importance of Racking Inspections

Every day, your racking is subject to huge amounts of use and abuse, and while it’s designed to withstand it, things can still go wrong. By having your racking regularly inspected, you can spot these potential issues before they become a danger to your staff and your stock.  

Additionally, annual racking inspections are your legal responsibility. In HSG76, the Health and Safety Executive (HSE) sets out the need for racking inspections by a ‘competent person’, as well as the kind of inspections required. Additionally, the Health and Safety at Work Act (1974) stipulates that warehouse racking is classed as work equipment, and must be inspected and maintained on a regular basis.  

Our trained inspectors are HSE-recognised and can conduct a regular rack inspection service, helping your warehouse stay compliant and safe.  

 

Our Comprehensive Warehouse Racking Inspection Services

During the course of your inspection, our experienced inspectors will work from a racking inspection checklist to review the setup and condition of your racking system, checking it for potential faults and spotting issues before they emerge.  

From this, they will produce a Full Rack Inspection Report, which will categorise any damage by risk level. You’ll then be issued with this report and can use it as a guide for addressing potential hazards through racking maintenance.  

Racking Inspection Checklist

 

 Your inspector will conduct their review of your facilities in accordance with warehouse racking safety standards. They’ll assess your pallet racking for potential faults and any signs of damage. At the end of the process, they’ll issue you with a Full Rack Inspection Report, which uses a traffic light system to categorise any faults or hazards by risk level. This way, you know which issues need to be addressed most urgently.  

Expert Rack Inspection Services

 At D&R Racking, our trained, HSE-recognised inspectors can thoroughly assess the safety of your racking systems in accordance with HSE regulations. Should we find any faults with your racking, we can also repair, maintain or replace any sections that present issues.

We’re one of the UK’s leading providers and installers of racking, with 50 years of experience under our belts, so you can trust us with all of your racking needs.

 

pallet racking

Industrial Racking Regulations

In the UK, the maintenance and inspection of racking is governed by a strict regulatory framework. Two key warehouse racking safety standards require the annual inspection of industrial racking systems: the Health and Safety at Work Act (1974), and HSE’s HSG76.

Failure to adhere to these not only puts you in a tenuous situation legally, but it also invalidates most insurance policies and puts your employees and stock at risk.

 

Racking Inspections: What Customers Are Saying

Ian Mahon
Ian Mahon
2023-11-09
Great service. Easy to deal with. No issues.
martin taundry
martin taundry
2023-10-27
D&R racking recently installed a Mezzanine floor and some racking on one of our projects and we found from the initial enquiry to the finish install that they were extremely helpful and professional, and we wouldn't use anybody else. We definitely recommend these guys
Catalin Tudorache
Catalin Tudorache
2023-10-19
Very happy about this place.I received my items in 20 minutes and Dave answered all my questions. First time when i use D&R Racking but definitely not the last
Andy Dallas
Andy Dallas
2023-10-13
Bloody good job, Racking fit perfectly,guys in the office were very helpful and informative, and the lads fitting it were helpful & accommodating to our business needs to help us continue to trade whilst they built it. This is the 4th time we have used DnR Racking and there is no doubt we would recommend to others and continue to use them in the future
Phil Jones
Phil Jones
2023-10-13
The lads recently fitted racking and a Mezzanine floor here at Midland Escalators LTD. A professional, hard working outfit and a lovely bunch of lads as well. We would highly recommend D&R racking LTD and we would definitely use them again when the need arises.
Eamonn Jones
Eamonn Jones
2023-09-08
Used D&R to relocate some pallet racking and dismantle an unused section of racking. The guys who came to do the work were very professional, got straight on with the work and cleaned up after themselves. Very good service.
H & Jodies
H & Jodies
2023-07-13
We had an amazing experience with D & R Racking when purchasing second-hand racking from them. The quality of the racking was as good as new, and their service, delivery, and installation were fantastic. We would like to extend a big thank you to Jim, who organized the whole project. His professionalism, expertise, and attention to detail ensured a seamless and enjoyable experience. The team at D & R Racking demonstrated exceptional quality, service, and overall customer satisfaction. We highly recommend them for all your storage needs.
Gareth Little
Gareth Little
2023-07-13
We have used D&R Racking many times for all of the racking requirements at our Roofing Merchants in Brierley Hill. They are very easy to deal with, quick in responding and priced competitively. Great service all round!
Abolfazl Bayat
Abolfazl Bayat
2023-07-11
فروشگاه حدادیان

Have More Questions About Warehouse Racking Inspections?

What is racking inspection?

Warehouse racking inspection is the process whereby a HSE-recognised ‘competent person’ conducts a review of a racking system, assessing it for faults and issuing a report categorising them by risk level.

How often should racking be inspected?

Legally, your racking needs to be inspected once a year. However, having it inspected more regularly is obviously much safer. In some high-traffic environments, weekly inspections are recommended. If you’d like expert advice on an inspection and maintenance schedule for your racking, speak to our friendly team today.

What are the disadvantages of a drive-in racking system?

Drive-in racking systems aren’t always suitable for all types of products due to their LIFO stocking system. Drive-in pallet racking systems can be difficult to manage and can occasionally lead to lost products. There is also the risk of damage to your drive-in racks from your forklifts due to a high amount of traffic in and out of the system.

How do you conduct a racking inspection?

A racking inspection must be carried out by a ‘competent person’, who is trained and recognised by the HSE. They will apply their understanding to spotting potential flaws in your racking, and compile them into a final report with flaws categorised by risk level.

Apart from racking inspections, what other services do you offer?

At D&R Racking, we supply and install a wide selection of pallet racking systems including double deep racking, wide aisle racking, tyre racking, tool racking, carpet racking as well as several shelving systems and accessories. Explore our pallet racking systems here.  

What is the job of a racking inspector?

As a HSE-recognised ‘competent person’, a racking inspector is required to have a thorough understanding of warehouse racking safety standards and to conduct legally mandated inspections of commercial racking, spotting and reporting potential hazards.

What should I look for in a racking inspection?

You should ensure that the inspectors who conduct your racking inspection are trained to the standards required by the HSE, and that they will issue you with a report with actionable recommendations.

What are warehouse racking safety standards?

 Strict regulations control the upkeep and inspection of racking in the United Kingdom. Industrial racking systems must undergo an annual examination in accordance with two important warehouse racking safety standards: the Health and Safety at Work Act of 1974 and HSE’s HSG76.

How to get started with pallet racking systems

In the modern competitive business world, an ineffective inventory management system in your warehouse can hinder your operations and damage your reputation. Installing the correct pallet racking system, optimised for your unique company needs, can be a real game changer and you don’t need to trawl through a minefield of information to discover the efficient solution for you. The ideal pallet racking solution for your company comes down to a few important criterions. Firstly, it is important to consider your storage needs and the dimensions and weight of the goods you wish to store. Then it is paramount to survey your available area to ascertain how a pallet system can snugly fit whilst providing adequate access whenever required. Finally, you must calculate your budget for the system as the intention is to streamline your operations without damaging other areas of your business.

If this sounds a little overwhelming don’t worry, at D&R Racking, we have the experience and expertise to complete this for you. Get in touch with our helpful team to explore your options with a specialist who will direct you to the perfect pallet racking system for you.